I’m here instead

Map of the Voyage of the Argonauts

 

I’m tired of stumbleupon

4 Comments on “I’m here instead”

  1. Ario says:

    *Pitches tent*

    Guess I will be camping here too then.

    I do like your tags. They are all alphabetical too.

    Clever that.

    *passes mug of mulled wine*

    Slainte.

  2. Sebastian says:

    *accepts mug of wine*

    And I can make up my own system of fabulous categories too!

  3. Tobey says:

    Thanks for the input sebastian.

    Those who do not want to believe that a theatre owner / theatrical producer / actor / playwrite could also write great poetry tend to be academics. They need to say this to justify their strategy of self-promotion via the academe. No one makes money on poetry and it is considered bad form to be able to do so.

    Interesting. But how do you know this?

    Anong movies yan? Penge naman ng top 3 mo. :p I have yet to get a visceral experience of his text to understand his “greatness”. I’ve read Hamlet and The Tempest, but none of them really stuck to me bec I zoomed through them in just one sitting. haha. I am a moron. Please enlighten me. You are my savior. :p

    I’m tired of SU myself. Imagine wading through a lot of garbage before stumbling on a real gem–lots of time wasted. I’d rather read books listed on the canon–none of the books failed me. lol

    • Sebastian says:

      “Interesting. But how do you know this?”
      Here’s a passage from Star Trek IV (the only real comedy in the movie series)

      Spock: Admiral, may I ask you a question?
      James T. Kirk: Spock, don’t call me Admiral. You used to call me Jim. Don’t you remember “Jim”? What’s your question?
      Spock: Your use of language has altered since our arrival. It is currently laced with, shall I say, more colorful metaphors– “Double dumb-ass on you” and so forth.
      James T. Kirk: You mean the profanity?
      Spock: Yes.
      James T. Kirk: That’s simply the way they talk here. Nobody pays any attention to you unless you swear every other word. You’ll find it in all the literature of the period.
      Spock: For example?
      James T. Kirk: [thinks] Oh, the complete works of Jacqueline Susann, the novels of Harold Robbins….
      Spock: Ah… The giants.

      This plays on the idea that each generation of critics fails to recognize how a popular work can somehow make it to “classic” status under later critics who do not carry their biases with them. This is not quite the same case as Shakespeare, who was much admired in his day. The idea that he could not have written the plays is actually a relatively modern one dating to the 19th century. It coincided with the rise of degrees in Literature (also a relatively recent invention) and it’s understandable that critics would prefer that someone more like them to have written the plays.

      If you want to see Shakespeare done properly in movies watch the three in my next post.

      SU still does provide some accidental discovery, but you do have to wade through a fair amount of redundancy before finding gems. Still, those gems you do find are usually worth it. There are authors I wouldn’t have found otherwise. But what you say about the canon is correct. There’s enough there to keep you entertained for a long time without having to good looking too much.


Leave a Reply

