Big Brother Amazon Remotely Deletes Purchased Copies of 1984 and Animal Farm From Thousands of Kindles

http://gizmodo.com/5317180/amazon-remotely-deletes-legitimately-purchased-books-from-thousands-of-kindles

[ftp]
Apparently, the publisher changed its mind about having electronic versions of Orwell’s books. So Amazon removed them from the store and in the process remotely deleted the books from the Kindles of anyone who bought them, depositing a refund in their account in the process.
[/ftp]

July 17, 2009

The Penguin Group

Gentlemen:

I am no longer interested in my copy of Animal Farm by Mr. George Orwell which was published by your firm. I enjoyed reading it very much, in fact I read it three times, and was most impressed by the ending wherein the other animals could no longer distinguish the pigs from the humans; rather ironic in light of how publishers choose to treat their readers these days by committing piratical acts such as removing electronic version of books from electronic reading devices unilaterally. But I digress; I would be happy if you could refund me the current cover price of your usual edition of this work in exchange for this copy which I am mailing to your offices. It’s not in very good condition I’m afraid so you may deduct the printing costs from the cover price if you wish and I would consider that fair.

Sincerely
A loyal Penguin reader

Leave a Reply

