River

I’d thought to boldly stop avoiding rain.
So I unclothed myself in open air
and then assumed to go in safely swimming
since you were there.

You, River! Showed yourself to me
too full from tears of far too many questions.
I watched you keenly, from a distance, keeping
safely from your shore.

But then you knew how you would overrun
to flood this plain. You knew, it is your cause
that it is you I had surrendered into
with sudden wetting.

Now each of one plus dozen moons have shone
eddies of light brush strokes on your surface
suggesting currents sweeping me along
gladly ever within you.

Leave a Reply

