Myths of Greece and Rome: Artemis (Diana)

http://www.sacred-texts.com/cla/mgr/mgr08.htm

Hecate

from the page

Lo! now the barley smoulders in the flame,
   Thestylis, wretch! thy wits are woolgathering!
Am I a laughing stock to thee, a Shame?
   Scatter the grain, I say, the while I sing;
   ‘The bones of Delphis I am scattering;
Bird, magic Bird, bring the man back to me.’
Next do I burn this wax, God helping me,
So may the heart of Delphis melted be,
   This brazen wheel I whirl, so as before
   Restless may he be whirled about my door.
‘Bird, magic Bird, bring the man home to me.’
Next will I burn these husks. O Artemis,
   Hast power hell’s adamant to shatter down
And every stubborn thing. Hark! Thestylis,
   Hecate’s hounds are baying up the town,
   The goddess at the crossways. Clash the gong!
   .     .      .      .      .      .      .      .
Lo, now the sea is still. The winds are still.
The ache within my heart is never still.

Leave a Reply

